About Us

Our main office and operations facilities are located in Newport along with our appliance showroom and propane fill station.  We have a branch office located in Jefferson City.  Both offices have a drive-thru for our customer’s convenience.  JCCUD currently serves approximately 8,734 natural gas customers and 5,241 propane customers with 51 full and part-time employees.

JCCUD is governed by a five (5) member Board of Commissioners.  Our Board of Commissioners meet the last Thursday of each month at 9:00 am in our Newport office

Change in Leadership

We would like to thank Tommy Bible for his 32 years of leadership and dedication to JCCUD’s Board, employees and customers. We would not be where we are today without Tommy.

L to R: Gary Hammonds, Blake Briggs, Tommy Bible, Robert Overholt, Sharon Hayes, Rusty James
We would like to congratulate Clint Hammonds on being named JCCUD’s new General Manager as of April 1, 2023. With Clint’s leadership, our Utility will continue to grow and thrive into the future.
L to R: Blake Briggs, Gary Hammonds, Clint Hammonds, Robert Overholt, Sharon Hayes, Rusty Gregg


Jefferson Cocke County Utility District has been the recipient of several gas industry awards.  The most recent being the American Public Gas Association Safety Award for the year 2020.  This is the 20th year JCCUD has been recognized with this award.  The award recognizes the successful efforts made to ensure the safety of our employees and customers and the integrity of our gas system.

JCCUD has also received the American Public Gas Association System Operational Achievement Recognition (SOAR) award recognizing system excellence.  SOAR honors natural gas distribution utilities that demonstrate commitment to excellence in System Integrity, System Improvement, Employee Safety and Workforce Development.  JCCUD has received the SOAR award from 2016-2021.

Perfect Attendance Awards

JCCUD would like to congratulate the following employees for their perfect attendance in 2022. We thank you for your dedication to the Utility and to our customers!

(L-R) Tommy Bible, McKinley Bible, Russell Blazer, Greg Reed, Mike Wood, Chris Chambers, Dale Masoner, Steven Chambers-pictured with Assistant General Manager, Clint Hammonds

Service Awards

We recently recognized employee’s years of service at our December 2021 Board Meeting. Thank you for all you do and for your service and dedication!

With each picture
General Manager Tommy Bible along with Commissioners Robert Overholt and Rusty James gave the recognition.

5 years – Steve Stokely, Lee Reed, Scott McCandless (not pictured, Bradley Troutman)
10 years – Corey Ragan
15 years – Jonathan Sane and Kristi Ball
25 years – Jeff Lafollette
30 years – Tommy Bible and Chris Chambers